Fundado em 963, Luxemburgo tornou-se um grão-ducado em 1815. A independência completa foi alcançada em 1867. Em 1948 entrou para a união aduaneira de Benelux. Em 1957, Luxemburgo tornou-se um dos seis países fundadores da Comunidade Econômica Europeia (mais tarde União Europeia) e, em 1999, aderiu ao euro.




Population: 582,291 (July 2016 est.).

Religions: Roman Catholic 87%, other (includes Protestant, Jewish, and Muslim) 13% (2000).

Ethnic groups: Luxembourger 54.1%, Portuguese 16.4%, French 7%, Italian 3.5%, Belgian 3.3%, German 2.3%, British 1.1%, other 12.3%.

Languages: Luxembourgish (official administrative and judicial language and national language (spoken vernacular)) 88.8%, French (official administrative, judicial, and legislative language) 4.2%, Portuguese 2.3%, German (official administrative and judicial language) 1.1%, other 3.5% (2011 est.).

Nationality: noun - Luxembourger(s). Adjective - Luxembourg.




Mapa Luxemburgo


Viagem Europa


Church, Luxembourg





Cidade Luxemburgo mapa



Country name: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (local: Grand Duche de Luxembourg).

Capital: Luxembourg.

Government type: constitutional monarchy.

Independence: 1839 (from the Netherlands).

Administrative divisions: 3 districts; Diekirch, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg.

Terrain: mostly gently rolling uplands with broad, shallow valleys; uplands to slightly mountainous in the north; steep slope down to Moselle flood plain in the southeast.

Total area: 2,586 km².

Highest point: Buurgplaatz 559 m.

Climate: modified continental with mild winters, cool summers.

Port: Mertert.


Clervaux, Luxembourg



Copyright © Guia Geográfico - Países Europeus, roteiro de viagem.



St. John's Church, 17th century, Luxembourg.


Château de Vianden

Château de Vianden, constructed between the 11th and 14th centuries.




Abbaye St. Maurice, Clervaux.